SAFe® Scrum Master (SSM®) Or Certified ScrumMaster (CSM®) – Which One to Choose?

The Scaled Agile Framework is widely used by multinational companies that handle large projects and have a large number of workers on particular product development, as it can be used by a huge group in a large company. When deciding whether they should pursue the Certified Scrum Master or the SAFe® Scrum Master course, an individual seeking advancement in their career may feel confused. In order to become a Scrum Master, an individual must first learn what their responsibilities are and later select the framework in which they can work. The purpose of this article is to introduce the differences between the CSM® and SSM® certification.


Let’s Dig into the Differences:

· Certified Scrum Master (CSM®) Certification

It is widely recognized by several recruiters from renowned organizations, making it one of the most popular certifications in Scrum Framework. An expert Scrum Master teaches the 2-day Scrum Master training course. The candidate will gain an understanding of the Scrum values and principles, how Scrum meetings work, how Scrum artefacts are created, and what a Scrum Master’s responsibilities are. Once the individual learns the basics of Scrum, it’s time for the exam. It’s a multiple-choice test with no difficult questions. CSM® workshops allow candidates to become acquainted with Scrum as an important aspect of Agile as they provide a great way for them to learn about it.


· SAFe® Scrum Master (SSM®) Certification

An organization that wants to scale its Agile enterprise can implement the Scaled Agile Framework. By using SAFe®, businesses can become agile in a short period of time and get results. Individuals who have a background in Scrum and are interested in knowing how Scaled Agile fits into it can take the SSM® course. Those who already hold the Scrum Master certificate can also take this course to gain knowledge about SAFe®. In order to qualify as a skilled Scrum Master, individuals must obtain the SSM® certification, which provides practice management and leadership qualities.

READ now:  Features to show the worth of writing services

·  Which One Should You Go For?

Professional courses such as Certified Scrum Master® and SAFe® Scrum Master help an individual grow professionally. If you want to learn more about Scrum and are new to using it, then the CSM® course is right for you. Upon completion, CSM®s have a solid understanding of the foundations of Scrum and its principles, enabling individuals to understand their role as Scrum Master. It is only the SAFe® Scrum Master course that is better for professionals with experience in Scrum environments and who wish to progress their careers in a complex organization that uses Scaled Agile Framework. SAFe® Scrum Master is ideal for professionals who have experience working in an agile environment but haven’t taken the CSM® course.


The SSM® and CSM® courses provide opportunities for candidates to advance their careers. This is one of the most popular and enduring courses in Scrum. In recent years, as SAFe® has become a popular project management and development approach, SSM® has gained more awareness. SSM® is ideal for individuals looking to work in SAFe® and gain a deeper understanding of it and build a career in it. The candidate must also have worked in a smaller Scrum team as a Scrum Master. People who want to start their career as a Scrum Master who is new to the idea of Scrum should enrol in the CSM® course in order to become familiar with the basic principles behind Agile and Scrum.

Also check:

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *